Houston Dynamo hand out year end awards

The Houston Dynamo held their annual awards gala this past week highlighting the accomplishments of individual players who helped the Dynamo endure an up and down season for first year head coach Owen Coyle.  At the clubs annual event sponsored by the Halliburton Charitable Foundation, Coyle and the Dynamo in the playoff hunt until the very end looked back on the 2015 season and ahead with excitement to the 2016 campaign.

Will Bruin, currently in contract negotiations to return to Houston, collected his second Budweiser Golden Boot award in the last three seasons.  The fifth year forward found the back of the net 11 times in the regular season and 12 times against all competition.  Houston’s 26 year old forward became the first player in Dynamo history to net ten or more goals three times in a career.  He also became the second player to surpass the 50 goal mark against all competition.  Bruin trails only Brian Ching (56) on the franchises’ all-time regular season scoring chart.

Giles Barnes, who recently signed a new contract with the Houston Dynamo was last season’s Golden Boot award winner.

Team MVP (as voted by the media) and Players Player of the Year (as voted by the players) Ricardo Clark is also in contract talks with the Dynamo.    Clark previously won the Players Player Award in 2013.  Clark battling through health issues all season appeared in 30 matches and scored a career high eight goals with four of them coming in the final nine games.  The 32 year old now in his eighth season with the Dynamo also received the Humanitarian  of the Year award for hs work with Power Passes, a youth organization he founded in 2013.

Other honorees included Damarcus Beasley (Defender of the Year), Raul Rodriguez (Newcomer of the Year) and David Horst (Ironman of the Year).   Midfielder Leonel Miranda took home Young Player of the Year and Goal of the Year honors.  Christian Lucatero was named Dynam0 Academy Player of the Year.

Complete list of 2015 Dynamo Awards winners:

Most Valuable Player: Ricardo Clark
Players’ Player of the Year: Ricardo Clark
Budweiser Golden Boot: Will Bruin (most regular season goals)
Newcomer of the Year: Raúl Rodríguez
Defender of the Year: DaMarcus Beasley
Ironman of the Year: David Horst (most regular season minutes by a field player)
Young Player of the Year: Leonel Miranda
Dynamo Humanitarian of the Year: Ricardo Clark
Goal of the Year: Leonel Miranda dribble and chip versus LA Galaxy (88th Minute – July 25)
Save of the Year: Tyler Deric save against Kaka free kick versus Orlando City SC (41st minute – March 13)
Dynamo Academy Player of the Year: Christian Lucatero
Dynamo Academy Players’ Player of the Year: Charly Flores
Forever Orange Award: Houston Mayor Annise Parker (outstanding outside contributor)
Fan of the Year: Wally Elarusi
Team Spirit Award: Andrea Singletary
Game of the Year: July 25 vs. LA Galaxy (3-0 win)